4e Homebrew Setting: Illyria – A Renaissance Magitek Setting

I know I’m late for the homebrew carnival, but I’d like to take this spot to heartily promote a homebrew setting cooked up by RV, a fellow GM from my gaming group who came up with an amazing setting that mixes Final Fantasy with Alexandre Dumas and with a little bit of the Elizabethan Era thrown in for fun, all with the use of the 4e D&D ruleset!

Illyria is a setting where magic, fantasy and technology exist side by side. Magitech. Portals and Magical skyships, espers and engineers, summoners, and gunknights. Illyria is an unforgiving monarchy where the blood of dragons promote a person’s identity and social status. But still heroes arise in the name of the Queen, or in the name of the Country. Never both.

Please check out the full document HERE (PDF 1.6mb)

19 comments

  1. Holy crap!!! My jaws just dropped! Awesome job, I haven’t gotten a chance to read it all the way through but damn I like what I see so far! Much thanks to you guys and I will definitely point this out to my gaming group. I’ll spread the word in general haha!

  2. No! Wait!!
    It hasn’t been copyrighted through the proper channels yet!!

    … and so another idea dies on the internet.

    No one shall ever know its true progenitor…

  3. @ Andy

    Unfortunately only RV can churn out more of this stuff as this is his own setting. I’ll ask him if he has any further documents for this setting, as I’d be more than happy to host them on the site.

  4. LOL. Thanks.

    Oh and I can’t really copyright it you know, or else Squaresoft will sue my boots off! LOL. Its an adaptation of Final Fantasy VI and IX after all…

    Besides, This version doesnt have the Magitech Weapon rules yet. ^_-

  5. Is there a short white bear like race that I can play?

    Or have they been changed to the rat like thingamabobs?

    Either way, saying “Kupo” every sentence should be fun 😛

  6. Hi Jonathan!

    I believe it was cobbled together from various sources, the front page for example depicting the woman on top of a Magitek walker is from Final Fantasy 6 (Final Fantasy 3 in the US)

    I’ll have to check with RV to find out what his art sources were.

  7. Gah, Uh oh… >.<
    I made the setting for the gaming group’s dnd campaign… didn’t really expect it to pop into the net :p
    Personal use, folksies!

    I’ll quote my sources better next time. ^^ But for the time being…

    Artworks inside include those were handful of CGs from Final Fantasy 6 and 9… and others by painters Raphael Lacoste, Yoshitaka Amano and Jason Chan.

    I’m planning to revamp the setting for my other players who want to join in… and am adding Paragon classes, Magitek Weaponry and Armor, and full stats of summonables like Ifrit and Shiva. And maybe I’ll add in Tudor Moogles and Chocobos, just for the heck of it. :p

  8. Lovely work on the document. Out of curiosity, how’d you do the layout? Did you use a template or just (very ably!!) ape the 4e books’ look? Drop an email if you respond, I’ll forget to check back here. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.