Philippine Gamer Visits Dubai’s Geeky Lizard!

Posted: November 26, 2016 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , ,

I haven’t been posting much lately, but I did want to pop in and talk a bit about a great experience I had today checking out a hobby store in Dubai. I’ve been lucky to be sent to Dubai on a company trip. Eager to see if the hobby has any representation in Dubai, I did some quick internet research a few days back and stumbled upon Geeky Lizard on Facebook.

A quick, and very friendly Facebook chat conversation later, I had an address to check out.

Fast forward to today, and I and my co-worker Daryl were able to find Geeky Lizard. It was clearly still under renovation, but the place was a nice open area, with plenty of gaming tables and neat things on display. It had everything from Board Games, to CCGs, Playmats, Deckboxes, dice sets and more!

I also go to finally talk to Omar, the proprietor of Geeky Lizard in person. Warm, friendly and passionate about his hobbies, he’s exactly the kind of person you’d like to see running a hobby store.

geeky-lizard

Omar of Geeky Lizard in black. The other guy is me.

Omar showed me around, and I regret not having taken more photos of the place as my phone was running low on power.

That said, he was able to show me two very cool things:

volo.jpg

First, Volo’s Guide to Monsters was in stock for both the standard and special limited edition cover, that you see pictured here. Geeky Lizard carries a good number of D&D 5e books, as well as the Star Wars RPG from Fantasy Flight Games. Pathfinder has a place in his shelves while Numenera also had a few supplement there too.

The other, more impressive thing was the fact that his store had an area specifically for running tabletop RPGs!

geeky-lizard-2

Still under construction, but looking cool already!

Most gaming places in the Philippines don’t really have this sort of feature and I honestly wouldn’t mind paying for using something like this if it was designed to help facilitate play. Definitely a great idea.

Another thing I liked was how good the vibe of the community is. There was a Magic the Gathering tournament going on when I arrived, and they all seemed to be a fun group of gamers.

Given the large Filipino community in Dubai, I wouldn’t be surprised if there are more than a few RPG gamers around. If you’re there, and you’re seeing this, then get your butts to Geeky Lizard over at Al-Ghazal Mall along 2nd December Street and dive right in!

Oh, and tell Omar that Jay sent you.

Leave a Reply

