#RPGaDay 13 to 16

Posted: August 16, 2016 by pointyman2000 in #rpgaday2016, Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

Another few days, another batch of answers for this year’s RPGaDay!

13) What makes a successful campaign?

These questions don’t get easier, do they? I think that a successful campaign requires respect for each participant, and a willingness to go and make the game fun for everyone. I’ve always held to the belief that everyone in an RPG is a participant with one real goal: to make the game fun for everyone else. It doesn’t matter if you’re the GM or a Player, if you focus on making the game fun both in and out of character, then you’re doing it right.

I can go into more detail on this, but here’s the gist:

  • You’re part of a team of people who gather together to play through a game that’s meant to be fun for everyone
  • Being respectful is the bare minimum expectation for human interaction
  • As a participant, you are soley responsible for taking actions in or out of game that can build upon, or destroy the fun aspect of a game
  • Don’t be that guy who ruins it for everyone

14) Your dream team of people you used to game with

Dream team, huh? I think this is best answered within a context of what game we’re playing. Certain players I’ve had the honor of running for have been excellent in some games while lukewarm in others.

For the sake of this question, I’ll go for Legend of the Five Rings, my go-to for most days.

My dream team would be:

  • Silver Countess – My wife, who has been gaming in Rokugan for so long that she’s developed a sublimely nuanced understanding of Rokugani culture, magical theory and arts as to be able to set up elaborate schemes.
  • Hikkikomori – A long time player in my games whose quick wit and stunning audacity allows him to skirt the edge of dishonor and get stuff done without getting caught. A master at managing multiple falsehoods and misdirections.
  • Paulo Lapa – Another player from my Lion Clan game who knows Rokguan intimately as he was a player of the Card Game from the beginning. A student of Sun-Tzu and practitioner of martial arts, he brings another fresh perspective to the game.
  • Gelo Adrao – I’ve only run for Gelo once, but stories of his portrayal of the Mantis are Legendary. He’s relatively new to Rokugan but he’s got the vibe and cunning down pat and will make for a great addition to the rest of the team.
  • Mahar Mangahas – I’ve only run for Mahar in three games (two of which are L5R) and the man is a social monster in the truest sense of the word. His characters have a way of drawing the spotlight on themselves, and will be a great way to set the bar for the rest to participate for great in-character moments

I have no idea when or how I’ll be able to set this up, but if I ever do, I will need a video of this because it will be awesome.

I might even make it a Crane Clan game to redeem my failed campaign.

Man this is a tough question. I’ll probably assemble a different set of Avengers, ahem, players for a different game. Probably in another blog post.

15) Best source of inspiration for RPGs

My best source of inspiration for RPGs would be music. Whether they’re soundtracks or individual songs, music helps me get into the mood very quickly, and I often find myself pegging certain songs for certain moments in my games.

A prime example of this would be the “Ending Song” of my Lion Clan game where the adventures took place over the different seasons of the year:

Or this one, which was the music for a scene where a shugenja manages to lift the curse on a corrupted race of demihumans and restored them to their former pure glory.

16) Historical person you’d like in your group and what game?

Honestly I’m pulling blanks for this one. Does Leslie Nielsen count as “historical?” because he would be an absolute hoot to play with, I imagine. I’d run D&D just for the hell of it.

Comments
  1. mikplata says:

    Something I’ve been wanting to do is record campaign videos in the vein of Acquisitions Incorporated, Titansgrave, Critical Role and Force Grey.

    I think it would be a fantastic way to share the hobby to the world, get people curious or simply just provide entertainment.

    • I agree! These days streaming shows are starting to gain some major traction, and having a local one would be fantastic. I’m struggling with managing time right now but I would definitely love to be part of a web show featuring RPGs.

Leave a Reply

