RPGaDay2016 #11 & 12

Posted: August 12, 2016 by pointyman2000 in #rpgaday2016, Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , , ,

Powering on through with the relatively more frequent posting of articles, here we are with answers to RPGaDay2016’s day 11 and 12 questions.

#11 Which gamer of your acquaintance has had the most significant effect on your gaming?

This is a tough one. I’d like to think that as a GM you get to learn a lot about the hobby just by running for new people. Each player, from someone totally new to the hobby to the oldest veteran, brings something to the table that a GM has to learn, accept and play off from.

That said, I think the person that most influenced me to be better was the GM who killed my first D&D character in four minutes of starting a session. I was already a fledgeling GM then, and it was my first time trying the game.

My newly minted Cleric’s death was due to me playing to the character’s nature. He stopped to heal a wounded stranger in a city under attack. Suddenly a gang of levitating half-orc vampire monks with great swords rounded the corner and killed him.

I set aside my characters sheet and spent a good amount of time processing what I had just experienced. It felt wrong, and I resolved to be better than that.

#12 What game is your group likely to play next? Why that game?

At this point I’m not sure what game we’ll play next. I want to run a few games, but with my attention shot while running at home (and running after my nearly 2 year old son) it’s difficult to even fathom running something anywhere near the level of coherence that I’d be satisfied with.

That said, I’ve got a couple of games that I’ve got coming down the pipe thanks to kickstarter. Among them are Conan, Coriolis and Zweihander. I might not be able to game just yet, but give it a few years and I’ll be sitting on a hoard of games that will take a while to play through!

Leave a Reply

