[Mage: the Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition] Pitch: Amalagam-X

Posted: November 26, 2015 by pointyman2000 in Campaign Design, Mage: the Ascension, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , ,

In celebration of the first mini-con game I’ll be running this coming January, I’m putting up an early pitch for the game I’ve got in mind. A bit premature, perhaps but still fun!

netrunner___the_hours_tick_by_by_macarious-d74y6pg

Netrunner: The Hours Tick by Macarious

The world should have ended in 1999.

Since then, there have been no less than 37 other End of the World Scenarios that have taken place. But we took care of them just like we take care of everything else.

Welcome to Amalgam-X, a cross-convention team of Technocratic Union Enlightened personnel dedicated to confronting extinction-level events from whatever source. From the awakening of ancient slumbering proto-gods from the depths of the sea, to recent “weird” phenomena like Internet-propagating Mass Murder Memes, we’re always on the front lines keeping the end of the world at bay.

I’ll be running my first-ever Technocracy game for Mage: the Ascension, and I find that now that I’m older (and I have a child of my own), the Technocracy viewpoint is much more attractive than it was when I was a cocky young college kid.

2016 paints a different world of superstitionism and proto-occult belief systems, ripped straight from Creepypasta and the Dark Web. The existence of a continuously wired community becomes a breeding ground for demons born from the darkest elements of humanity and it’s up to Amalgam-X to stop these as they happen.

That said, I’ll be taking the Mage: the Ascension 20th Anniversary rules for a spin. First Impressions on an Actual Play of the rules to follow, I promise!

Leave a Reply

