[Heroes of the Falling Star] Developer Diary 3: Aiming For More Than Just Play

Posted: May 27, 2015 by pointyman2000 in Game Design, heroes of the falling star, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , ,

I’m probably going to sound pretentious for doing this post, but here we go.

I started Heroes of the Falling Star because I wanted a means to convey lessons to my son in a fashion that would be entertaining. Going beyond the usual academic lessons that you gain from exercising simple math and figuring out puzzles in game, I wanted to go one step further and work on values formation.

This meant that I would need mechanics that reinforce certain core values but I don’t want the game to come off as preachy.

Because of this I opted to choose a list of virtues that were cornerstones of Wuxia literature:

  • Kindness
  • Loyalty (and Filial Piety)
  • Courage
  • Respect
  • Honesty

I feel that this is a solid foundation of positive values that kids would benefit from.

The mechanics used for this is a simple feedback loop: when Heroes display behavior that coincides or demonstrates a given virtue, the Narrator notes it down.

At the end of the session, The Lady of Love and Mercy debriefs the Heroes on the adventure, and recounts the times when they showed themselves to be virtuous. This earns the Heroes “Stars” a rough analogue to experience points. Once a Hero has accumulated enough Stars, The Lady then takes these Stars and puts them together as a Constellation illustrating their heroic deeds.

The key here is to stress that it was the virtuous deeds that they did that would become Stars… and that these deeds are the substance from which the Falling Star Treasures are made. Good deeds are magical, and their prior heroics will continue to help other kids become Heroes as well.

I’m on the last stages before launching the crowdfunding campaign for this game. I’ve had some incredible luck finding people willing to help me and I’m excited as heck.

Leave a Reply

