[Legend of the Five Rings] Campaign Planning: Blood & Coin

Posted: April 6, 2015 by pointyman2000 in Actual Play, Articles, Legend of the Five Rings, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

Hey there,

I’ve recently been working on planning for a twice-a-month campaign of Legend of the Five Rings, 4th Edition. It’s a bit of a re-hash of an old Crane Clan campaign pitch I’ve had lying around, with a big tweak in the sense that the game will be set in what amounts to the Rokugani equivalent of the Meiji Era.

For the sake of my sanity though, I’m transplanting the NPCs of Hantei Naseru’s era, meaning we’ll still have luminaries such as Doji Kurohito as the Champion of the Crane Clan.

The change to the Meiji Era means a whole lot of little changes that can throw a lot of old hands to the L5R setting for a loop.

The Meiji Era was a time of great social upheaval in Japan, and the Rokugani equivalent of the era will be equally interesting. After a bloody opening of Rokugan to trade with Gaijin elements, the Emperor has decreed that it was imperative that the Clans reorganize themselves to keep up with the world at large.

This leads to a time where the Clans are forced to re-evaluate their role in a new world, and this affects the Crane Clan most heavily. While the ancient traditions were crafted by their Ancestor, Lady Doji, this new era presents an opportunity to improve upon Society in new ways.

The question then becomes, “What should be adapted from the foreigners, and what should be thrown away?”

In addition to this, I’ll be setting the game in a single city, a far cry from my usual Empire-spanning adventures, and I’ll be taking inspiration from Police Procedurals and other Urban Adventures that have a much more focused scope. I don’t know how good I’ll be at this, but hopefully it will be good.

I’ll be meeting with my players to kick off the campaign this weekend, and I’m very excited. I’ll update the blog with a list of my player characters as soon as they give me their final character sheets.

Comments
  1. Sounds like great fun! Look forward to reading more about it as the campaign happens.

Leave a Reply

