And I’m back!

Posted: September 2, 2014 by pointyman2000 in Dungeons & Dragons, Roleplaying Games, The Strange

I’ve returned from my business trip to Singapore last Saturday night, but with a few social obligations and my Wedding Anniversary yesterday I’m only really beginning to settle in to the old routine just now. Apologies for those left waiting for the rest of the Let’s Study series for The Strange, but I’ll get back to that shortly once I have all my ducks in a row.

In other good news, I was able to get a copy of the Dungeons and Dragons Player’s Handbook courtesy of my brother, who flew in from Australia on vacation. He was able to find a copy there and bought it a week before he was heading home. This means I’ll be able to get a review or a Let’s Study series on 5e very soon.

Well, that’s it for this momentary personal post. I just need to get my bearings and I should be able to continue my series on The Strange.

Comments
  1. bob says:

    Welcome back, what’s your first impressions of the PHB and 5th Edition in general?

    • Hi Bob!

      Thanks, I’m reserving a long look at the 5e PHB for a separate post, but so far my initial skim of the book is very positive. 5e injects a lot of roleplaying details in the race and class descriptions that make it feel a lot more conducive to adventures that involve roleplay and social interaction as opposed to purely combat. I like the Inspiration and Advantage / Disadvantage mechanics and it feels easy enough to learn the basics that you could get a new player up and running with a character without overloading them with options, while still retaining further customization by making Feats optional.

Leave a Reply

