[D&D] Starter Set Fighter Teaser – First Impressions

Posted: June 19, 2014 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Dungeons & Dragons, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , , ,

The people behind the latest iteration of D&D just released a teaser in the form of the Starter Set’s pregenerated Fighter character sheet. I’ve uploaded it below for your reference:

Starter Set Fighter (1)

The resolution of the actual file isn’t superb, but there’s enough to go on if you squint at it long enough. That said I’m pretty happy with what I’m seeing here.

Overall, the character sheet looks well organized, with little touches in terms of usability. The slot for Passive Perception DC is neat, and I do like the little tracker for Death Saves.

But perhaps the most interesting for me here is the part about Personality Traits, Ideals, Bonds and Flaws. These are the things that help define a character and help the player anchor their actions in terms of what a character would do, rather than look at them as just a collection of scores.

I’m not sure if the Background section on the second page is just for the Starter Set, but I have to say that it’s refreshing to find more information like this, that goes beyond the “You’re a sell sword, and here’s a job. Go get ‘im.” that I’m used to seeing.

I was happy with the Advantage / Disadvantage mechanic in the playtest, so I’m happy to see that they’ve retained it. Overall, it certainly feels that D&D is headed towards the right direction to me.

Comments
  1. beej says:

    No need to squint: This one is zoomable.

    (Zoomable isn’t a word? @_@)

  2. bob says:

    Did anybody else ever use passive insight? I found it worked well in social situations.

Leave a Reply

