[Let’s Study Tianxia: Blood, Silk & Jade] Part 0: Introduction & Expectations

Posted: May 30, 2014 by pointyman2000 in Articles, FATE, Let's Study, Roleplaying Games, Tianxia
Tags: , , ,

126883

With Mindjammer’s Let’s Study series all done, it’s time to turn our attentions to the other rising star of FATE Core games: Tianxia Blood, Silk & Jade by Jack Norris.

Wuxia is one of my favorite genres. As a Filipino of Chinese descent growing up in the 80’s, some of my fondest memories were those of spending the sweltering afternoons of the summer indoors glued to the TV as they aired obscure movies. Invariably, these movies came in only two genres: Science Fiction B-Movies, and Wuxia Films.

Needless to say, those were truly formative experiences given my preferences in RPGs.

Little surprise then that when I saw a Wuxia game go up on kickstarter, I jumped on the chance. I’m still relatively new to FATE, but I was convinced that if there was one thing to get me to really commit to the FATE Core rules, it would be a Wuxia Game.

Personally, Wuxia is a tricky genre to pull off. While it’s certainly grown in popularity in the western audience, a lot of it is still very rooted in Chinese culture. I’m eager to see if the more subtle points of the culture of Jianghu manifest in Tianxia.

Wuxia stories are the equivalent of the Pulps, where you have larger than life heroes kicking ass in the name of honor and righteousness. As such, I’m expecting to see a really robust martial arts system in place that will hopefully be able to replicate many of the wire-fu things we see in the movies.

Given what I’ve seen in the previews, I’m very positive about this Let’s Study series. Heck, with any luck I’ll be able to mash up Mindjammer with Tianxia and come up with some sort of Wuxia Space Opera… but I’m getting ahead of myself.

On Monday, we’ll start off with the first section, “Welcome to Tianxia” and get a glimpse of the game’s scope and the author’s approach to a Wuxia setting.

If you’d like to follow along, Tianxia is available from DriveThruRPG in PDF format for only $14.99

Comments
  1. James, F.E. says:

    Wuxia Space Opera. Awesome.

    • HDTran says:

      Seriously, that’s an awesome mashup. So excited to see the Tianxia review–especially since I’m still waiting on IPR to sell them to get it.

Leave a Reply

