[Fate Accelerated Edition] Dr. Steve Armstrong, aka Megavolt

Posted: April 23, 2014 by pointyman2000 in Articles, FATE, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , ,

I’m still on my extremely slow learning curve on FATE, and I’ve decided to pick up from the FATE Accelerated Edition side first. The promise of a very rules lite game is appealing to me mostly due to the sheer amount of real life obligations that I have to address these days, so having something quick that I can run with little need of prior memorization is going to be a godsend.

So for the sake of this particular experiment, let’s go with an old HERO character of mine: Dr. Steve Armstrong, aka Megavolt, a power suit character based roughly on if Voltes V was an Iron Man suit of armor.

As with all FATE games, the first (and arguably the most difficult) step is the Aspects.

The first Aspect I need to come up with is a High Concept, a short phrase or sentence that sums up my character concept in a way that can be used in a positive and a negative way.

For this one, I’m thinking:

“Daredevil Science Hero”

It’s a little vague, but hopefully it’ll do. Daredevil can be both positive and negative, and being a science hero means that he’ll be ill equipped to deal with (or believe in) supernatural threats.

The next Aspect to worry about is the character’s Trouble. This is an aspect that always complicates the life of my character.

For this one let’s go with:

“Sworn enemy of VIPER”

HERO fans would recognize VIPER as the HYDRA analogue, a para-military secret society out to rule the world. Any time they’re involved, Megavolt will be on it.

Here’s where it gets tricky, this time I have to come up with one other Aspect. This one has no specific guideline, but I might as well use the opportunity to flesh out the character more.

“Custom suit of experimental power armor”

Again it’s a neat thing to have, and trouble-wise, it means that Steve would have to find a way to get to it if it’s not with him, and it’s prone to the occasional malfunction and need for rare materials in it’s repair due to the experimental nature of the suit.

Sounds right, I hope.

The next section is all about Approaches. Approaches are interesting as they represent the “how” a character does something. Fate Accelerated Edition uses these in the place of skills, which I find myself agreeing with.

These approaches are: Careful, Clever, Flashy, Forceful, Quick and Sneaky.

I get to choose one at Good (+3), two at Fair (+2), two at Average (+1) and one at Mediocre (+0).

Given this I’ve decided on the following:

Clever +3, Flashy +2, Forceful +2, Quick +1, Careful +1 and Sneaky +0

Stunts are my next order of business. At default I begin with up to 3 stunts for free, which gives me a +2 bonus to a specific type of roll, or allow me to do something cool.

I figure that Megavolt’s signature attack, the Ultra-Electromagnetic Beam is worth turning into a stunt, and so I’m pegging it as a +2 bonus to Forceful Attack.

Since Steve Armstrong is supposed to be a brilliant scientist, I’m also giving him a stunt that gives a +2 to Clever ideas that create an advantage for another Character.

Finally I figure I might as well make Steve Well-Connected so once per session he will know someone that can help in a current situation.

Overall that was relatively painless. Certainly the Aspects might be wobbly (and they always have been my pain point with FATE) but as is I’m really enjoying the simplicity of the Approaches from FAE.

I suppose the next step would be to figure out how Armstrong does in a hypothetical situation… like a bank robbery.

 

Comments
  1. yamasaki says:

    For your first stunt, you need to make a limit. The +2 bonus can’t apply to all Forceful situations that use that signature attack; that will be too broad. Consider adding something like “when protecting innocent civilians from a villain attack”.

Leave a Reply

