[Design Diary] Fight Class: Release Musings

Posted: February 11, 2014 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Fight Class, Game Design, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

fightclass2014_logo small

Hey guys,

I’ve been reviewing my draft of Fight Class at the moment and I think I’m very close to being able to being able to call it a stable release version. I’m still in the process of acquiring art, and negotiating with someone to do edits and layout for it, but the text it self is approaching a state where I could feasibly call it done.

With that in mind, my thoughts go towards the idea of using Crowdsourcing to help pay for the art assets and layout work necessary to make Fight Class shine.

I’ve noticed that the Onyx Path releases have taken the strategy of uploading their 99% text up on google drive for people to check out during their Kickstarter campaigns, and I’m wondering if that’s a good thing for me to try doing as well.

Aside from being able to present to backers what I actually have, it might help in drumming up interest in getting the work the kind of quality artwork it deserves. On the other hand, however, I don’t have Onyx Path’s following, and it is quite probably that I might upload it for free only to have the crowdsource effort fail and not be able to recover anything for my work.

It’s a tricky proposal but it might be my best way to get the investor confidence to get backers. What do you guys think?

Comments
  1. bob says:

    First let me say again how excited I am to hear the project is progressing, since I found out i’ve been checking in everyday again.

    Here are my thoughts of what I’d try if I were in your position.

    I’d first continue giving out teases of the game and work up to the launch of the project to hopefully get people interested right from the start. As you get to the final few posts before launch start promoting shamelessly, and sending out info to a variety of gaming sites (destination rpg, tabletopgamingnews, enworld, The Glamorous Unrestrained Hype Machine thread at rpg.net, etc.).

    For the crowdsource project depending on how you feel the prerelease hype is being responded to, maybe only pdf and softcover printed book if you aren’t feeling confident in the response you’re getting.

    Definitely have some basic rules or a quickstart document (pre-gens and a short adventure) for download that introduce the game in broad strokes so people can see if the mechanics are appealing to them. As the campaign continues you can then release more information to keep yourself and fans promoting it.

    I think there’s lots of information you can hold back on throughout the campaign like detailed setting info, character creation rules, items, all the adventure creation rules etc., until the project funded.

    Hopefully this was helpful to you, good luck in this exciting endeavor.

    • Hi Bob!

      Thanks for the advice! I’ll be honest and say that with work and all I’ve been pretty overwhelmed with the remaining things that need to be done with this game. That said, I’m pushing myself to get a manuscript out that I can send to other blogs and other people in the industry in hopes that it might get some good buzz.

  2. bob says:

    As a one man operation, I think you’re doing very well. In what i’ve seen the preparation and all the work that is put in before the crowdsource project begins puts the project on the right track.

    So as tough as it is for us who want to see what you’ve come up with, please take your time to make sure the project is the best you can make it.

Leave a Reply

