[D&D Next] Time to Give it a Whirl Again?

Posted: September 11, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Dungeons & Dragons, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , ,

I’ve been subscribed to the D&D Next playtest program for quite a bit ever since I heard of it, but I will admit that I’ve been rather remiss with regards to following it. There was a point in time when the discussion (and subsequent arguments) were enough to make me walk away, but I figured that now would be a good time to give it another try. D&D Next is currently at a phase where the design team is about to close the open development window, and hunker down for a lot of internal reviews and development. This means that the end result will still look different from the ones we have right now in the playtest document, but they already have the data they need to start working on the final version of the rules.

Though I could be quite late to the party, I think it’s still a good chance for me to get the same team that worked with me for the earlier playtest and see just how the game has gotten better (or worse.) I’ve always had a weird relationship with D&D as I loved the videogames (both from Bioware and the old Gold Box Series) but the tabletop game has always been short stints that have devolved into far too much combat for my liking.

Of course that could be something solved by tweaking the GMing style, but I’ll wait till the official D&D Next edition releases before I form a solid opinion of it. For now I’m just curious to see how things have changed. Thankfully the playtest packet seems pretty robust, with all the rules you need to play and generate characters, an experience that I want my players to go through for the D&D Next.

Comments
  1. callin says:

    In case you are outside of the loop, the last playtest that WotC is going to release is coming out this month. If you are looking for the latest possible public playtest you might want to wait for this one. This should make it so the rules don’t change mid-game.

  2. Miguel d' Cannith says:

    Last playtest packet available for download today

Leave a Reply

