[Let’s Study] Numenera, by Monte Cook

Posted: August 6, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Let's Study, Numenera, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

After what seems to be forever, we’ll be going back to the Let’s Study series. For those new to the concept, we’ll take a game, and start going over it chapter by chapter, dissecting the concepts, mechanics and gameplay impressions until we can get a better understanding of the game. In this series we’ll be tackling Monte Cook’s Kickstarter hit: Numenera. I backed this particular game almost as soon as I read the blurb that Monte put up in Kickstarter because it seemed to be a breath of fresh air with exciting new concepts and a setting built to restore a sense of wonder to RPGs.

I’ve just recently received the kickstarter backer PDF copy, and I have to say that the document looks gorgeous. A pity that going for a printed copy is prohibitively expensive to ship to my country, so I’ll have to make do with just printing out my pdf and binding it here somehow.

I’m giddy with excitement over checking this game out. I had a quick flip through and I noticed that both Frank Herbert’s Dune & Alessandro Jodorowsky’s The Incal were mentioned as inspirations, and I’m a big fan of that kind of high weirdness space opera. We’ll be kicking off the Let’s Study series in earnest tomorrow, and I’m hoping that Numenera will blow my mind.

Comments

Leave a Reply

