Checking Out Other Gaming Groups

Posted: July 26, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Local Scene, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

It’s been a while since I’ve checked out other gaming groups, and perhaps it’s about time I do so. Not because I don’t like my gaming group, but because getting a sense of how other people play is always good to opening my mind to different play styles.

Tonight, my wife and I are heading over to check out one of the gaming groups that play near our area. They’ll be starting with a Legend of the Five Rings campaign, and I think that tonight is the character generation session. I’ll be on hand to observe and provide advice and information with regards to the setting. I’m glad that it’s a game that I’m very familiar with at least so I can do more than just lurk and watch them play.

At the moment, the Philippine RPG gaming scene is in a bit of a funk. While online ordering and PDFs are good avenues for acquiring books, the dice tend to be an issue as well. Not a lot of stores carry polyhedral dice anymore. Of course this is little cause for concern for games that rely on six-sided dice, but part of the fun is in rolling funny shaped dice, and I’d hate to lost that appeal to new players.

I’ll still be running my Legacy of the Ki-Rin campaign tomorrow, of course. Though I must admit that I’ve been remiss in the updates. I’ve tried using a more descriptive writing style and the time it takes to put it together is difficult to find in my current state of being really busy at work. Still, I hope to catch up, as the campaign is definitely different from the prior ones I’ve run, but with plenty of references to the earlier campaigns!

Comments
  1. EvilGardenGnome says:

    Have you considered a deck of cards? For anything d14 (as there are only 13 cards in a suit) and under, use the appropriate cards. This can be slow, as you’ll need multiple pulls, or you merely place the appropriate amount of cards together. Rolling 4d10? Put four sets of Ace to 10 together and draw four times. For unwieldy amounts (d10), put 22 cards together. Why 22 you ask? Add in one joker for every set of ten after the first. This allows for the possibility of ‘rolling’ a one. Not perfect on the statistics, but workable.

    You could even make any amount by using scraps of paper with numbers on them. Each scarp representing the result from a single die.

    Not as viscerally pleasing as rolling dice, but functional.

    There are ways to represent any die with multiple rolls of a d6, but I can’t remember it right now. Googling a bit will help. They are, however, more fiddly.

Leave a Reply

