[L5R 4e: Hearts and Souls] Back In the Saddle

Posted: March 1, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Legend of the Five Rings, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

After the one weekend break due to Real Life obligations, I’m going to be running the next installment of the All-Crane Clan Campaign “Hearts and Souls” agian. I have to admit that even after six entire sessions of this game, I still approach it with a little bit of hesitation as political games aren’t exactly my forte. That said the past six games aren’t so bad, and things are finally coming to a head.

My biggest concern now is to figure out pacing. Right now some sessions feel really slow while others seem to be escalating too fast. While I normally don’t apply brakes to escalation unless things are spiraling out of control, I feel the need to make sure that I handle pacing carefully in this game. This is perhaps the trickiest part of a political game, how do you gauge when something is actually doing okay, and when is it too dangerous, or too slow? It’s a difficult question to answer and one that I’m still grappling with.

That said, there’s a lot of plot hooks that are going to be coming up next session, and I’m hoping that I manage to get through all of them in tomorrow’s session. Plenty of new NPCs to talk to, and plots to hatch. Sooner or later a weapon is going to be drawn in this game, and hopefully it’ll have the same kind of gravity and seriousness as brandishing a gun will in real life. I’ve gone for this long without a single initiative roll, so this could very well herald a moment of change.

I remember writing in the actual play reports that I’m taking the kid gloves off, and I think that will start to show soon. Changes are in the horizon, and people are starting to take notice one way or another. There’s going to be some rather interesting changes in Rokugan from what I can see, and it’s now a question of how my players turn crisis into an opportunity.

Comments
  1. Hikkikomori says:

    Pointyman Avalanche!

Leave a Reply

