Life and Marriage of the Philippine Gamer

Posted: August 28, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Local Scene, Roleplaying Games

No, this isn’t the ring I got her. I swear.

I don’t tend to write about my personal life on this blog, but I suppose once in a lifetime events can be forgiven. That said I just wanted to share my happiness at the fact that I’m actually going to be married to my longtime girlfriend and fellow gamer Silver Countess this Saturday, September 1st.. I’m certain that some of the regular readers of this blog’s Actual Play reports recognize her from the games that I’ve chronicled so far.

I have to admit that as far as the hobby is concerned, I’m a very lucky bastard to have found a woman who is intelligent and beautiful and is also a gamer who can understand, and participate in the hobby with me. This sort of thing isn’t common, and I’m thankful that she is every bit as amused with this hobby as I am. In fact, I could probably attribute the hobby for setting up the chain of events that resulted in me running into her in the first place.

In any case, it’s the start of a new phase of life for me, and I’m pretty sure that there will be a heck of a lot of little adjustments that both of us will make in our lives. Don’t worry though, I’m still determined to keep plugging away at this blog. If anything, you guys might see the occasional post from her on topics from her point of view, something that might lend a much-needed alternate point of view to my own ramblings.

Perhaps it’s weird of me to be broadcasting this publicly to the interwebs, but I’m a genuinely happy man right now. 😀

Okay, I’ve been asked if people could give a small cash wedding gift over the net. I’m incredibly grateful for your generosity, and I’d like to direct you to the paypal donate button on the top of the left-hand sidebar of the blog.

Comments
  1. Tarus says:

    Congratulations. My wife is also a RPG player so I understand your happiness. 🙂

    I wish you the best.

  2. dbro36 says:

    Congratulations! I hope you will have a wonderful, wonderful day!

  3. Wonderful news! Best wishes to both of you and I hope for every happiness in your life together.

    I, also, have been very lucky to be married to a fellow gamer and our life has been working out quite well.

  4. Old_Bird says:

    Congradulations! Mazel tov to the both of you — I pray your happiness grows as the years go on. Although my wife is not a gamer, she is in every other way my perfect mate (which is to say she puts up with far more from me than I have the right to expect!)

  5. jatori says:

    Congratulations! Best wishes for the happy day.

  6. […] I have to wish a HUGE congratulations to Jay (pointyman2000 @ Life and Times of a Philippine Gamer) who is getting married this weekend! Best of luck to you both and may you game forever together! […]

  7. dirty yasuki says:

    Congrats on you and your wife-to-be Jay. May you have a long and happy union.

  8. ScottM says:

    Congratulations! Getting to game with your girlfriend is a very good thing, but getting to do it for a lifetime is awesome! All the best to you.

Leave a Reply

