[Exalted] Shards of the Exalted Dream is now out in DriveThruRPG!

Posted: July 12, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Exalted, Roleplaying Games

I may say a lot of things about the complexity of Exalted’s rules, but I can’t deny the fact that I’m still in love with the setting. It’s no surprise then that I’ve been looking forward to checking out this book for a while now. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed what White Wolf did with the World of Darkness: Mirrors, so I have little doubt that the shards presented in this book will be anything less than stellar:

The world of Exalted has been reflected in the minds and stories of players across the world for over a decade. Now the mirror shatters, and White Wolf presents a collection of unique new visions of Exalted, shards of imagination to take your games through alternate realities, twisted histories, new genres, and even to the stars. In addition to re-imaginings of the classic setting, this book also contains a plethora of new rules to support those visions, or for enterprising Storytellers to use to create their own new takes on Exalted. What worlds will you forge from your dreams?

This book includes:

• Four fully-realized alternate settings, including modern, space opera, alternate history, and martial arts takes on Exalted.
• Over 130 new Charms, including material for all Exalt types and full support for Drive and Firearms-based magic.
• New artifacts, vehicles, rules hacks, subsystems, and a complete new system for martial arts-based games, featuring 150 unique Techniques.

Note: The Black & White print editions of this book are not full-bleed. Because of printing requirements there is a small white border around the edge of the pages.

Shards of the Exalted Dream is available from DriveThruRPG for $17.99 or roughly PHP 810.00

Comments
  1. Traveller says:

    Ever since WW completely messed up Exalted game mechanics I lost interest in the game. To be honest I’m already tired of Exalted’s setting and I don’t want Solars to be end all-be all of Creation anymore. It deserves a reboot like WoD. I really hate the power tiering among the various Exalted and god-blooded which really ruined game balance. Now that 3rd edition was announced to be released this December with the same direction as before I’m not really that enthusiastic. It will again take them years before all Exalted typed are even playable.

    • Hail Traveller (I’ve always wanted to say that)

      I didn’t really mind the tiered structure of Exalted mostly because I don’t run a lot of mixed games, so I wasn’t affected by it too much. Still I can understand how it might be an issue. That said I was turned off from the second edition by the sheer volume of mechanics that I could no longer keep up with. Still with the announcement of Exalted 3, I’m surprisingly optimistic. Hopefully the new development team will be able to make an Exalted game that I can finally sink my teeth into and run.

  2. Nitehood says:

    I have never played Exalted. I have just recently discovered the game. I saw a used 1st ed book in a used bookstore, read a little bit of the setting and liked it. I searched the web on Exalted and found that every forum on the subject usually turns into a war between versions of the rules or whether to even use the rules vs something else.

    I can only assume that the guys working on the 3e of exalted to be released at the end of the year(if they stay on schedule), have all seen the version wars, heard all the complexity scuttlebutt and will come out with better rules for 3e. I have been gaming since 1977 and can use whatever rule system with a setting. Its the setting I am interested in.

    I am intrigued by what little I have read on the setting and I want more…. What is the best list of books to get/read on the setting itself? I would possibly like to do a campaign in this setting later this year.

    • Hi Nitehood!

      Thanks for dropping by. Exalted has a kickass setting, but really has been marred with rules debates all over the place. The team who are working on Exalted 3rd are well respected in the community for their passion for the setting and their insight to the rules and how to make Exalted “playable” to use the words of the community, so I have high hopes for this one.

      That said, I’ve been out of the Exalted loop for a while. Are you looking for 1st Edition books or 2nd Edition ones? I can ask a few of the Exalted collectors in my neck of the woods for recommendations and get back to you as soon as possible.

  3. Nitehood says:

    I also find it interesting that this is released now, if a 3e Exalted game is right around the corner, unless there are not really many rules in this.

    • I think that they meant this as an endcap product to 2nd Edition. It offers some mechanics (such as a new martial arts system in the Burn Legend shard) but is mostly a “How to mangle Exalted to do other kinds of stuff” book.

  4. Nitehood says:

    I am looking for world setting. I’m not sure the version of rules makes a difference for that. I want a good history of the world, the different exalts, why they just now have started to awaken, etc.. A Campaign setting book, if you will. I am trying to just research the world setting.

  5. nitehood says:

    Thanks again Pointyman! I ordered a copy of Exalted 2nd edition from the web. O appreciate you asking your friend on my behalf..

  6. Nitehood says:

    Wow! Looks like I have a lot of reading to do… based on the books out, there are 11 that deal with setting alone..

    Exalted Setting
    Core 2nd edition rulebook

    Compass of Terrestrial Directions
    – devoted to fleshing out the bare bones of Creation presented in the Exalted core book
    1) Scavenger Lands
    2) The West
    3) The East
    4) The South
    5) The North

    Compass of Terrestrial Directions
    – devoted to fleshing out the bare bones of Creation’s supernatural locales
    presented in the Exalted core book
    1)The Blessed Isle
    2)The Wyld
    3)Yu-Shan
    4)The Underworld
    5)Malfeas

  7. Nitehood says:

    Maybe there is a website out there somewhere which sums this up….. I am having a hard time describing the setting to the players without saying ” Hey, lets play the Exalted game by WW..”

    I am trying to describe the setting, in very general terms, to them. Like a movie trailer… I want to entice them into the setting and adventure with out telling them the game.system/books.

Leave a Reply

