[Let’s Study] Early Dark Wins The Vote!

Posted: June 15, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Early Dark, Let's Study, Roleplaying Games

Now that’s a landslide if I ever saw one. Early Dark by Anthropos Games wins by a stunning lead, making it the topic of the next “Let’s Study” series of articles here on the blog!

I first ran into Early Dark by Anthropos Games during their Kickstarter funding period. I was looking for a different sort of Fantasy RPG to check out at the time, and the premise of this one in particular intrigued me.

Those who have been following my blog for a while are aware that I enjoy seeing Cultural flavor in the games that I run. I feel that having it just adds so much more depth to the games I run and helps give my players a sense of  place.

The introduction of Early Dark as a game that steps away from the standard Tolkien-esque western fantasy genre was what caught me. Add the fact that Anthropos games was looking to come up with interesting mash-ups of real world historical cultures and I knew I had to pledge to this project.

Now I’m here to sit down and really pick apart at what Anthropos Games has worked hard to come up with and see what makes it tick. Like the other Let’s Study series I’ve done before, we’ll peek at the setting, mechanics, character creation, combat, antagonists and other interesting bits that we run into as we go along.

On Monday, we kick off with an overview of Early Dark, and check out a few of the Author’s notes in the Prologue that can shed a lot of light on the nature of the setting and the specific time period that we’re looking at.

So, here’s hoping everyone’s willing to join me as I tackle this ambitious Dark Alternate History Fantasy Setting head on in Let’s Study: Early Dark.

P.S.

In acknowledgement of the guys who rallied for the other two games, I figure it would be a good idea to extend this particular round of Let’s Study Articles. We’ll tackle the other two games after Early Dark. So don’t worry. We’ll get to Wu Xing and Dark Harvest soon enough!

Leave a Reply

