[Mage: the Awakening] Endangered Species – Recalibrating

Posted: April 30, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games

Garrus loves him some calibrations (from Yuko Ota of Johnny Wander)

Given the feedback I’ve gotten from players so far, and the current read I have on my campaign, I think it’s about time for me to actually implement changes to the way I’m running Mage. Following my standard methodology, I’ve gone back to review the game thus far and I’m looking at interesting consequences that will give the game more opportunities to be more exciting and interesting for all parties involved.

There’s a persistent idea that GMs delight in the trouble and problems that they can throw at their players and while I have to admit to thinking this way once in a while, I have to find ways to temper myself so that I don’t end up throwing the entire party into trouble because of the consequences of an ill-considered action by one of their number.

That said, I constantly remind myself that this IS the World of Darkness I’m running right now, so a certain amount of trouble and bad stuff should be expected by the players. If anything what I’ve got in mind has been a long time coming for the group, and I’m hoping that once I’ve got time to implement the plans I have for this coming Saturday, the players will find themselves somewhere closer to how they were back in the old L5R campaign I ran.

I’m starting to wonder if the slight difficulty I’m encountering right now is a result of running a campaign whose setting wasn’t communicated properly to my players. Unlike L5R, whose setting came nearly pre-packaged, I started this game off with nothing more than “It’s in modern-day Japan, so yeah.” and I think that really ended up giving players some difficulty in adapting to the setting. Add the fact that my players weren’t all used to Mage’s system and setting conceits were another obstacle.

It’s a little too early for a post-mortem, but it’s something for me to consider. A more thorough introduction to the setting might be in order when I plan to run games like these that work best with players who are more familiar with the nuances of the game.

Leave a Reply

