GMing Status: First Quarter Review

Posted: April 12, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games

Early this year, I decided to put up a planned New Year’s Campaign Inventory up on the blog, right around the time I was midway through the Never A Dull Blade campaign for L5R. That said, the first quarter’s come and gone so quickly, but I’m glad I’m still technically on track.

Right now, I’m knee deep in Endangered Species, the Mage: the Awakening campaign that I’ve been hoping to pull of for a while now. I’ve run into a few kinks in running and have been making adjustments on the fly for a few sessions now, but I’m still confident that I can finish this game well, and with the sense of closure that I was able to get with the L5R campaign. I’ve also put together my own Consilium as evidenced by the slew of Tokyo Consilium Cabal posts I’ve been putting up over the past few days.

I’m not entirely certain how long the Mage campaign will go, but if I’m using the L5R campaign as a basis, then we might be looking at wrapping things up at around July. That’s a lot of sessions left to go, and I’m pretty interested in seeing just what the players will be doing by the end of the campaign. As with L5R I’ll be implementing breaks between story arcs to represent the kind of downtime that Mages have when they’re studying and otherwise pursuing the less glamorous aspects of their Awakened existence, so maybe the experience might flow just a little more freely then.

Of course, taking a break from a long campaign at around July means that there will be a lot of anticipation for what games will be launching in GenCon, which may or may not derail my hopes of running some of the games on the list. I feel that I owe it to myself to run Mistborn sometime, but I’m thinking of waiting until I get my hardbound copy from Crafty-Games before I do so.

As for Sci-Fi, there’s suddenly a ton of possibilities on the horizon, with Blue Planet 3rd edition and Fading Suns 3rd Edition also making their debut this year. While I’m waffling, I might decide to run a short Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game campaign just to get the Supers itch out of my system.

Comments
  1. Hikkikomori says:

    Masks of Nyararlahotep, prz. orz

Leave a Reply

