So… D&D Next is Under Development

Posted: January 10, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Dungeons & Dragons, Roleplaying Games
Tags:

At this point most of those who follow D&D have heard the latest news on what is apparently the latest iteration of Dungeons & Dragons. While the fanbase tends to call this incoming version “5e” I think Wizards of the Coast is adamant about keeping the version numbers absent, as even their community site has labelled it “D&D Next”.

There’s precious little solid information on what this incarnation will have, as it has only been announced, but the general statements that have been made are promising.  For one thing, the design team has made it a point to make sure that the fans themselves will be able to contribute to the development of the game. While this might not be a completely Open Development process, just being able to listen to and adapt the game to cater to the end user sounds like a good idea to me.

I admit that I’ve not played that much D&D, preferring games that are more like Legend of the Five Rings, or the World of Darkness line of games, but I still feel that supporting this new edition is something that I owe the hobby. Besides, if 3.5 and 4e turned out to be not quite to be my thing, I might be able to do my part in shaping D&D Next to be something that makes me happy and excited to run it.

I’ve already signed up for the early playtest for D&D Next, and I’m waiting to hear word if they’ll be releasing early playtest documents for people to use.  D&D Next might not be out until next year, but there’s plenty to be excited about in terms of how it will shape up.

For those interested, ENWorld has a thorough “Everything we know about 5e” thread that you can check out as well.

Comments
  1. Hikkikomori says:

    I am a-scared.

  2. ElitistJerk says:

    Eh? Too soon. Thank god for Pathfinder

Leave a Reply

