My Next Campaign: What Will It Be?

Posted: November 30, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games

Here we are again.  While my current Legend of the Five Rings campaign, Never a Dull Blade is doing well, I’ve started thinking of what might make for a good campaign afterwards.  At the rate that I’m going, I’m guessing that Never a Dull Blade will go on for another year or so of in-game time before I bring it to a close.

That said, I’ve been thinking about what game to run eventually.  I’m quite used to being the perpetual GM of my gaming circle, so I’m not quite craving for a chance to be a player in a game just yet.  I have several choices for games that I could go for, some of which I’ve been thinking about doing for a long time now, and others which are old reliable games that I can probably pick up and run without skipping a beat.

Sci-Fi

I know it’s a massive genre, but I’ve not run anything in this genre for years now.  The last I tried was a campaign set in the Metabarons universe, which while being a funky Space Opera campaign, never saw a conclusion.  I’m currently researching good Space Opera and Mecha RPGs to see if anything strikes my fancy to run.  Fading Suns is also a big contender here.

World of Darkness

Hello darkness, my old friend.  This is one of those no-brainer games for me.  While it’ll most likely be Mage, a host of other possibilities abound.  From Hunter, to Changeling and maybe even Vampire.  Sadly Werewolf, Promethean and Geist might not necessarily be run.  I just can’t wrap my head around them enough to run them, to be honest.

Supers

Here we go again.  The last campaign I ran for this genre was using the Mutants & Masterminds ruleset, and I might just try again with their 3rd Edition, assuming that I don’t go and make a homage campaign to honor HERO games with a game run using their system.  Nothing concrete here yet, but I have been pondering a campaign that has a strong Legion of Super Heroes vibe, with heroes from all over the known worlds in one superteam, saving their worlds from various inter-stellar threats.

Other options include Espionage, but that might be a long shot, given that I’m not that well versed in the genre.  Still, giving Spycraft 2.0 a time to shine is always a possibility.

Comments
  1. mythicast says:

    Personally haven’t tried supers genre, sounds like fun. Though I liked the old World of Darkness books (with the exception of Vampires).

  2. yamasaki says:

    Not to be contrary to the previous poster, but why not try V:tR? I’ve yet to see you run a vampire game, and your take on Mage (I remember, from that single time I was your player :P) can be called “personal horror” and very V:tR – like.

  3. nMage is always my staple of automatic like, along with playing Hunter. I’m a little on the border regarding Changeling (even if I bought majority of the books), since I prefer reading it rather than playing it. V:tR sadly I haven’t read much of it, and what I have read of it, I’ve forgotten–mostly because I don’t see myself playing as a vampire.

  4. bumbayker says:

    Mage has been my long time personal favorite from WW. Though I prefer the setting of old Mage better the magic system in new Mage seems more balanced IMO. Ever since my Mage storyteller stopped running games I’ve haven’t played it since. I played Exalted which was the next best WW game IMO. Unfortunately after each succeeding book of Exalted in 2nd ed the rules just got clunkier and clunkier and unbalanced. And a ton of errata had to be developed just keep the game alive. I miss Mage a lot and I’ve been itching for a game for years.

  5. Uncle Asriel says:

    I’m curious as to why you’re not fond of Geist. I stumbled upon your site a few weeks back, and rather enjoyed your commentary on the various parts of different gaming systems, aprticularly the World of Darkness line. I’ve heard a fair number of people complaining about the new Mage fluff system, but you made a compelling case for it.

    Many folks have sung the praises of Geist in the past, and I’m curious as to what you found difficult about running a game with it. I’d imagined that running a game would be fairly intuitive – the players all had a near death experience, and find some hidden voice/instinct/message in their Alphabits cereal compel them to investigate hauntings. The PCs are brought together due to meeting in support or therapy groups following the brush with death, or coincidences happen to pile up so that their geists tug them along to make them work together.

    I’d recommend the Vampire: the Requiem game like Yamasaki does, because you’ve not covered that specific WoD ruleset yet, and I’d love to see how you manage to make it work. The complaints of VtR is that ‘it’s not Masquerade’, but seeing someone objectively try and run it and see how it plays out appeals to me.

    Alternately, if your players are too WoD’d out, try the Mutants & Masterminds. I’ve heard you can do a LOT of crazy things with it, and make amazingly intricate games. (For instance, someone recommended that a Nasuverse game could work well in M&M).

    That’s just my take in it, though

    • Hello Uncle Asriel, and welcome to the blog!

      Honestly, I’m uncertain as to why Geist leaves me uninspired. Ghost stories are interesting to me, but for some reason I have a hard time getting into the appeal of Geist. That said, I suspect I’ll have to start work on a Let’s Study series of articles for both Geist and Vampire: the Requiem so that I can figure them out. I’ve already dabbled into reading Werewolf and Promethean, and while I’ve taken out some interesting lessons from both games, I still feel that I won’t be able to run them in a fashion that does them justice.

      M&M is still definitely on my radar, and I’m considering building sample characters just to get the hang of the changes introduced with the latest edition.

      • Uncle Asriel says:

        I would LOVE to see you complete a Let’s Study of Vampire & Geist. I’m planning on a Mage/Changeling game later this year, and your groundwork with those articles is fantastic, not to mention a great way to introduce new players who’ve never touched an RPG before to things like the politics of the Lost ot the metaphysics of a mage’s powers. As a World of Darkness fanboy, seeing someone provide commentary on why the games work (or why they don’t) helps to put into words the stirrings and opinions I have after reading a rulebook.

        I can see why Promethean and Werewolf wouldn’t be as engaging of a game to play – Promethean feels more like a meditation or writing-exercise rather than a complete game, in that the game only story the game considers itself capable of telling is “becoming a real boy.” Werewolf is built with some solid mechanics, but ultimately doesn’t have a long-term, well-focused narrative that had the same punch as it oWoD counterpart ( overwrought metaplot notwithstanding) Seeing why & if Geist and Vampire aren’t up to snuff would be interesting. Do it, if you so have the time!

        • Hikkikomori says:

          Isn’t the problem with Promethean is that, the more you become real, the more people find you offensive?

          • Actually being a Promethean alone makes you offensive to everyone by default, the very earth despises you if that tells you how unlikable you are.

            The journey to becoming a “real boy” is outright disturbing and depressing which makes for running it very hard to do.

Leave a Reply

