[Let’s Study] Better Late Than Never Edition: Fading Suns

Posted: October 26, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Fading Suns, Let's Study, Roleplaying Games

A NEW DARK AGE

It is the dawn of the sixth millennium and the skies are darkening, for the suns themselves are fading. Humans reached the stars long ago, building a Republic of high technology and universal emancipation—and then squandered it, fought over it, and finally lost it.

A New Dark Age has descended upon humanity, for the greatest of civilizations has fallen and now even the stars are dying. Feudal lords rule the Known Worlds, vying for power with fanatic priests and scheming guilds.

—-

Fading Suns is yet another one of those RPGs that slipped my grasp back when it first came out in 1996, which was a damned shame, because looking at it now, I would have had a lot of time to enjoy this game.

Upon initial inspection, it has just about everything I enjoy in a game.  Multiple playable factions, but no hard Classes.  Lot’s of potential for politics within not just the Noble Houses, but also among the various Guilds and the factions of the Church.  Initially designed by Bill Bridges (of Mage: the Awakening) and Andrew Greenberg, it has a strong White-Wolfy flavor that I find very pleasant indeed.

The setting is one of the high points of this game, and many people who can’t otherwise stand the Victory Point system are willing to overlook the cumbersome qualities of the system just for the sake of the setting alone.  While I’m not actually certain if I’ll be one of them, I’m practically sold on the game as something I could run on the strength of all the crazy potential in this setting.

And so I embark on my latest Let’s Study attempt, taking a moment to dissect Fading Suns for various gems, and seeing if I can come up with a strong campaign pitch out of this experience.

For those that would like to check out the game, RedBrick is currently developing a 3rd Edition of the game, but you can still grab their revised 2nd edition corebook over at DriveThruRPG for $17.48 or about PHP 751.00

Comments
  1. Fading Suns is one of those games that I really dig the background of, though I have a few problems with it, but I have never been able to play more than a few sessions of any campaign before they fell apart.

    And I kind of like the VP System, it is perfectly functional.

  2. Michael Schulz says:

    Fantastic setting, although I think it suffers a bit from the bad old days of ‘Official Answers to be Revealed in Product X’ metaplots though. Personally, I found the system a touch wonky as well (but I played 1st Edition).

    That said, the 3rd Edition looks like it will be pretty cool, should it ever appear on store shelves!

  3. I was really into WW games in college, and this game made a big splash with a bunch of my friends, but I never ended up playing it. I need to look into it some more.

    Your link to DriveThruRPG is busted — you forgot the http:// 🙂

  4. cyric says:

    A new edition was anounced long ago… and should actually appear next year. If you wouldn’t mind… start praying for it with the rest of us fans… 😉

  5. Angus says:

    Fading Suns 3 is coming, I promise you all that. If you have been following the Blogs on the RedBrick website you can see a lot of work has been done to improve the system, and the the core books should be 2 volumes (Player’s Guide & GM’s Guide) and about 300 pages each.

    • I remain hopeful (and eager) to see the 3rd edition, Angus!

      The fact that it’s coming out in two volumes is interesting to me, especially since that implies that these will be bigger books 😀 I’ll try to catch up on the redbrick development blogs then, and keep an eye out for when 3rd Edition makes it’s debut!

Leave a Reply

