[L5R – Never a Dull Blade] 7 Samurai (also, why I probably will stick to PDF)

Posted: September 8, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Legend of the Five Rings, Roleplaying Games

As mentioned byHikkikomori in the previous post, I’m looking at a total of SEVEN Player Characters to work with for this campaign:

– an Akodo Bushi with a fascination for Go.
– a Matsu Deathseeking Duelist.
– a wandering Kitsu Shugenja-pugilist.
– a gullible Matsu Shugenja.
– a self-serving and uncompromising black sheep Akodo Bushi.
– a disavowed Akodo Bard turned Lion’s Shadow with a Dark Fate.
– and possibly a bitterly betrothed Kitsu Beastmaster who learned the ways of the Lion Scouts

Not exactly what I had expected when I pitched the game.  Clearly L5R has a surprising effect of attracting players from nowhere.  Because of this, I think I’m going to have to pull out all the stops for this campaign.  Thankfully I’ve got a full compliment of L5R 4th Edition Books to use.  I’ve got the Corebook, Enemies of the Empire, Emerald Empire and The Great Clans to pull from.

Three of these (Core, Enemies and Emerald) are in physical format, but I find that I have better luck with PDFs nowdays.  For one thing, the books don’t seem to do well, as my corebook started coming apart only after a week of obtaining it, and two hours of character creation.  The book came clean off the spine and is only being held together by the endpapers.  I was heartbroken.

Yep. Clean off the spine.

I still have the book with me, of course, but I’m starting to hit the point where I might have to get a PDF copy of the book instead.  I might not be able to take the heartbreak when the book finally falls apart completely.

The other two books have not seen as much handling as I’ve become ultra-paranoid of using them.  I spent a good amount of money on the corebook and having it ruined so soon is something that I’m not eager to repeat.  I wish it were otherwise, since these are incredibly pretty books, and the 4th edition L5R art and layout is superb, but I don’t think I could take it if I spent good money on such a beautiful product only to have it die in my hands.

UPDATE:

I’ve sent and email to L5R customer support and they’ve asked for my mailing address not long after.  I’m glad that my location didn’t prove to be an issue. 🙂

Comments
  1. You can probably get in touch with AEG’s customer service and have it replaced – I know a lot of companies, like FFG and White Wolf, will often do that.

    • Hey there,

      I’ll give it a shot. I’m a little worried that I might not qualify for a return policy since I’m all the way over here in the Philippines, but I suppose it wouldn’t hurt to try.

  2. Nosfecatu says:

    If you do end up with a replacement, I may be interested in obtaining the defective L5R corebook from you (at discounted?). If the inner margin is wide enough, one trip to Recto should fix it up well enough for personal use. 😀

Leave a Reply

