Re-Centering Myself

Posted: August 30, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games

As of late I’ve been feeling the wind go out of my sails as far as GMing games go for some reason.  I’m still not entirely clear as to the reason for this, but I suppose it is another onset of GM burnout.

At this point, I’m not exactly sure what to do, only that everything feels dull and uninspiring.  I’ve had some idea with regards to what to do on my L5R game, but it’s not a lot and I’m not entirely confident that I can make it anything resembling a long campaign.  I suspect  may need some time to just relax, maybe try out some new things, partake in other media like books, videogames and movies just to recharge a bit.

I suspect that things are going to be back to normal soon enough, but for now I’ll just sit here and poke at things listlessly with a stick, until this fog lifts and my brain comes back to normal.

Comments
  1. Recharging is important. I suffered from GM burnout last year pretty bad and took a three month hiatus from pretty much all o’ it. I wrote a few blog posts here and there and surfed RPG Bloggers but largely that was it. I played in 3 games during that time, but didn’t run anything or write anything at all.

    When I started feeling refreshed I put back on my GM hat and dove back in with a new sense of excitement and vigor.

    Hopefully you will find what you need to do to recharge your batteries. 🙂

  2. Hikkikomori says:

    Take the Center Stance.

    +1k1 to your action in the next round.

  3. joewolz says:

    This is why my group rotates who GMs. I won’t be GMing for a while, since I’m playing Star Wars soon, but we made our characters and we’ll be off to the races next week.

    Recharge away man!

  4. Your work has been very stressful lately. You don’t GM well when your work is super stressful.

Leave a Reply

