[Let’s Study: Licensed Game Edition] And the winner is…

Posted: August 19, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Let's Study, Roleplaying Games, The One Ring

The One Ring: Adventures over the Edge of the Wild by Cubicle 7 games!

The latest rpg to bear the license of one of the most influential and beloved fantasy settings, Cubicle 7’s The One Ring narrowly defeats A Song of Ice and Fire from Green Ronin by a mere two votes.  I’ll most likely come back and do a Let’s Study article for the other games as well (there’s a strong vocal call for Dragon Age, and Smallville apparently) but I’ll be focusing on TOR over the next week.

I know I’ve written about The One Ring already in my previous review of the game, but at least this time I’ll be able to really get elbow deep into the guts of this thing.  Before anything else however, I’d like to put lay it out in the open that my exposure to Tolkien has been mostly through the Lord of the Rings trilogy of novels, and of course the movies.  That said, I think it will be a positive thing that I’m coming in as a complete novice to this part of the setting.

And so Monday we begin the Let’s Study series in earnest, as we tackle the first part of the game and go over bits of the setting, playable character types and take a look at the unique dice rolling mechanics in place in The One Ring.

Leave a Reply

