Archive for July 5, 2011



The idea of playing godlings in a modern setting has always been something that I’ve enjoyed.  While-Wolf sort of tried to address that particular niche with the Scion line of games, but a few mechanical issues turned me off for it, and I’ve been without any other alternatives ever since.

At least, until now.  Part-Time Gods is an RPG by Third Eye Games, and from the looks of it, this might be the next game to try and take this niche:

You’ve been gifted with the spark of divinity. Will you give into the power and leave your mortal life behind? Or will you lead a double life and protect those closest to you? Choose wisely – You only have one soul.

Part-Time Gods is a roleplaying game where players take the role of ordinary people imbued with the powers of a god. Balancing one’s mortal and divine lives can be tricky, and divine responsibility doesn’t always pay the rent.

Powered by the new DGS-Lite system and packed with plenty of character options, players make any kind of character they can think of and can quickly jump into the world. Includes over 40 antagonists, flexible divine magic and an in depth view of the world from the eyes of the gods.

That’s a lot of promise for a single game, and I’m hoping that this game manages to pull off what they’ve said with the blurb.  I’ll be perfectly honest and say that I’m going into this blind.  I’ve seen the Kickstarer page for this before but I didn’t really pay that much attention to it.

However, the premise IS interesting.  I like the idea that balancing mortal and divine lives.  I like the odd situations that you’re forced to cope with now that you’re a divine being.  It’s exactly the kind of thing that got me into Scion.  So, let’s go take a look inside the covers, shall we?

(more…)

