Campaign Buffet: D6 Cyberpunk

Posted: June 22, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, D6, Roleplaying Games

The D6 system is one that I’ve had a favorable view of ever since I tried running it in the form of the Metabarons RPG from West End Games.  I was a big fan of the Metabarons world, with all the madness in the setting and strange and eerie elements of Euro Comic Books that made it stand out from the usual DC and Marvel comic releases at the time.

Anyway, I ran Metabarons for a while and it was a big hit among my players.  And that is why I’m looking at it again… this time for a Cyberpunk campaign.

Cyberpunk is a genre of sci-fi gaming that I’ve not really had a lot of experience running, but I’m familiar with the tropes.  I know the themes, and can sort of figure out how to run a game of it without too much trouble.  Finding the right system however, was more difficult.  I’ve checked out Shadowrun and found the rules were far too complex, and HERO’s own toolkit approach was one that was working against it as a choice as I had no interest in auditing individual builds for yet another cybernetic arm.

D6 Space offered a good compromise.  It was a simple enough system, with decent character creation, and a complete Cybernetics system that folds neatly into the special abilities mechanics of the game.  Come to think of it, if I just slapped on more powers on this thing, I could technically run the XCONs campaign using D6 instead.  I’d lose out on a lot of the customization aspect, but given my lack of spare time?  Pregenerated cybernetics and powers are a godsend.

I have to admit that I don’t have a pitch yet, for this game I’ll need to get some feedback from the players.  The default of most Cyberpunk games is that the players are criminals of some sort, but that doesn’t always have to be the case.  My players might just want to try playing something along the lines of Ghost in the Shell for example, where the protagonists are a team of government agents.

In any case, I’ve got a bit of reading to do, as it’s been a while since I’ve touched the D6 system.  I’m sure it’ll be just like riding a bike, since I’ve studied it already once before, this shouldn’t be so difficult a second time around.

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    Check out the other D6 Science Fiction stuff. I think that Septimus is also good for cyber-stuff and mecha-ish items.

Leave a Reply

