The Rationale Behind BADASS

Posted: June 9, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, BADASS, Game Design, Roleplaying Games

Well… it’s finally happened.  BADASS, an irreverent RPG game about kicking logic in the face for the sake of doing awesome things has been unleashed into the internet and all I can do now is to sit back and watch.  I’m admittedly curious to see if this little bird takes flight, or if it falls to its doom, leaving an ugly, broken carcass to be eaten by scavengers.

I know that “developer diary” type entries usually come before the product is released, as a form of hype generation, but it seems I have things backwards, so please, humor me.

BADASS was a game that began with a single idea: “What if action heroes had to maintain their gung-ho natures at all times, or risk losing it all and become just one of us average joes?”  It was a game that was supposed to play with the idea of being punished for being anything less than awesome all the time.  Planning a careful approach, considering diplomacy, making a tactical retreat were all punished with the loss of Badass Points.

Badass Points are an interesting resource, as they serve as a fuel for the over-the-top abilities possessed by Badasses, but also act as a Badass character’s hit points.  This creates an element of risk, the Players are forced to judge if they should go all out and spend their Badass Points to excel, at risk that they could be taken out of the fight or encounter with one well placed hit from the opposition.

At the same time, spending Badass points generates Awesomeness, a running tally of experience, that unlocks further power for the Badass.  It was a carrot of sorts, the kind that encourages mechanically oriented players to race for it.  There’s no way to get more powerful than to spend BP.

The Flavas were a means to promote customization.  They were individually interesting, without necessarily being combat oriented all the time.  It was intended to be empowering in many ways, stylistically more than statistically.

BADASS is a game with a lot of room to grow.  I’m already taking notes on how I could actually improve this.  With any luck, I can bring out a new expansion very soon.

Comments
  1. Anthony says:

    Not to be a jerk, but I believe by explaining this you just became an Average Joe 😉

    Honestly, while I haven’t gotten a chance to play it yet, on a read-through Badass seems like a lot of fun. Definitely worth the price of admission. You actually probably should’ve put a price tag on it, because the work is worth $$

    • Hey Anthony,

      I know, but thankfully I still have Badass Points to spare, and can probably play something like “Eye of the Tiger” to get BP back after that. 😀

      As much as I would have wanted to put a price tag on it, I wasn’t certain what kind of reception this game would have from people. Since people like it then I can maybe charge a minimal fee for the expansions.

  2. Joshua says:

    You might be interested in my game Awesome!, which mines the same vein, in a more storytelling one-shot style. I actually wrote is as part of a challenge to myself to come up with a complete game in a single blog post, so it’s quite short.

  3. Joshua says:

    Heh. I almost said “I don’t want to distract you from reading Kapow!, but…”

  4. Rob Lang says:

    I’m looking forward to reading/reviewing BADASS and a developer diary is very interesting to read. However, I disagree with one point:

    “…I can do now is to sit back and watch…”

    No! Get out into the community! Tweet about it, write about it, email it to people who might review it. Now is when the work really starts – even for a free game. Have you told the folks over at http://www.1km1kt.net/forum about it yet? No? Then you should, they’ll eat it up!

  5. Checked it out as soon as I saw the posts yesterday. It was a great read and I’m really looking forward to trying it out.

    Thanks for BADASS.

  6. Hikkikomori says:

    Ah. Retrospect.

    Rife with opportunities to seek your inner Badass.

  7. Luke says:

    Read through the game this morning, planning a session ASAP. Looks fantastic!

  8. dirty yasuki says:

    Ah yesss… this should be also known as Scott Pilgrim: the RPG.

    Just saying it would be just as appropriate.

  9. […] The Rationale Behind BADASS from Life and Times of a Philippine Gamer (philgamer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

