In a little fit of pique from my selfish Id, I figured that I might as well make a list of games that I wish I was playing in right now.  Take note that my Id is neither realistic, nor patient, nor does it give a damn as to how I could possibly play all 5 games right now at the same time.  This list represents the desires of my basest of minds, the angry, petulant 5-year old that shrieks and breaks things when denied.

Considering that this particular angry and destructive 5-year old self lives in my brain, I figure I might as well give it an outlet before it decides to throw a tantrum and perhaps decide to smash a folding chair into my pineal gland.

And so onto the list:

All For One: Regime Diabolique

After checking out the corebook and several of the Richelieu’s Guides, I think I’ve finally found the swashbuckling RPG I’ve been looking for.  All For One: Regime Diabolique is probably the only RPG I know of that is in current circulation (sorry, 7th Sea, you don’t count) that handles the swashbuckling action of the Three Musketeers while adding an interesting supernatural twist to the setting.  While some people might find that Musketeers with Magic might be just a little too weird for them to handle, I am giddy with excitement at what I could pull off in this game as a player.

Champions

Ah, to play a supers game again.  HERO has always been my go-to for superheroic campaigns, and while I’ve successfully run it, I have yet to play it again under a different GM.  Perhaps the system is too daunting, or nobody has time to make a character with the detailed character creation rules anymore, but it doesn’t stop me from wishing that I was in a supers campaign where I could tweak and build a character to my exact specifications the HERO way.

Fantasy Craft

Fantasy Craft has been quite an obsession of mine, with all the options that the game provides.  I’m constantly hypnotized by the possibilities and I keep telling myself that I’ll finally unleash that mammoth of a custom setting I’ve got brewing in the back of my head.  But wait, I’m supposed to be talking about playing games, and I have to admit that despite it’s relation to the d20 System, I’m very much a fan of Fantasy Craft and would jump at the chance to play in a campaign.

Hollow Earth Expedition

Ahhh… pulp, the genre that keeps on giving.  I’m a big fan of the pulp genre, but it pains me that I’m usually the only GM willing to run a campaign.  That said, Hollow Earth Expedition is one of those games that just sings, getting even the most jaded of players to reconsider the merits of the pulp genre.  I’m all for any sort of campaign, Hollow Earth or not, I’d be just as happy punching Triad gangsters in Shanghai and punching out Thule Society thugs in the ruins of a hidden monastery in Tibet.

Mage: the Awakening

Mage is by far my favorite game in the World of Darkness, and I don’t think I will ever tire of it.  The themes of responsibility, power and hubris are all excellent fodder for all sorts of stories, both hopeful and tragic.  I yearn for the day when I can actually play in a full campaign of Mage with all the dials turned on.  Arcane Archeology? Sure.  Political backstabbing?  Bring it on!  Other-dimensional aberrations that seek to destroy our reality?  I’m there.

The Savage World of Solomon Kane

I would use words to describe why I want to play this game, but it wouldn’t do the setting any justice.  Instead, have a snippet from the Solomon Kane short story, Red Shadows:

“You – who are – you?” her words came in gasps.

“Naught but a wanderer, a landless man, but a friend to all in need.”  The gentle voice sounded somehow incongruous, coming from the man.

The girl sought to prop herself up on her elbow, and instantly he knelt and raised her to a sitting position… His hand touched her breast and came away red and wet.

“Tell me.”  His voice was soft, soothing, as one speaks to a babe.

“Le Loup,” she gasped, her voice swiftly growing weaker.  “He and his men – descended upon our village… They robbed – slew – burned -”

“I ran.  He, the Wolf, pursued me – and – caught me -”  The words died away in a shuddering silence.

“I understand, child.  Then -?”

“Then – he – he stabbed me – with his dagger – oh, blessed saints!  mercy -”

Suddenly the slim form went limp.  The man eased her to the earth, and touched her brow lightly.

“Dead!” he muttered.

Slowly he rose, mechanically, wiping his hands upon his cloak.  A dark scowl had settled on his somber brow.  Yet he made no wild, reckless vow, swore no oath by saints or devils.

“Men shall die for this,” he said coldly.

My excitable 5-year old self is already bouncing off the couch, play sword in hand and hacking at random furniture.

And so there it is, my list of games that I wish I were playing right now, somehow, against all logic.  These are all awesome games, with great systems that support the tone and style of play inspired by the genres that spawned them.  Check them out, give them a whirl, and if you ever decide that this is the game for you, drop me a line, I may just jump at the chance to play in your game.

Comments
  1. Joshua says:

    Could I persuade you to take a look at Kapow! my soon-to-be-released superhero game? It’s more flexible for chargen than Champions, as well as being simpler, and really lets you define exactly how you envision a power working–not just at chargen but throughout the game as you continue to play. It does lack most of the fiddly details like figuring exactly how far a character gets knocked back by an attack, but that makes combat run about ten times quicker. No exaggeration. We can do a combat with 7 players vs 4 dozen mooks, a couple of lieutenants, and a boss in 15 minutes, when I’ve had the same type of set-up in Champions run an entire session.

    • Hi Joshua!

      I’d be honored to take a look at Kapow! You have one heck of an elevator pitch, I’ll give you that. I’m intrigued about the idea of a more flexible chargen than Champions, while being simple enough to run combat of that scale in 15 minutes.

  2. Joshua says:

    Do you have an email address I could send a link to? If you don’t want to post it here, you can PM me on twitter as @majyc or send it to gmail (joshua dot macy).

  3. Hollow Earth Expedition is one of my personal favorites. I have the same problem as you, I want to run it and/or play a PC , but few people ever want to play anything other than fantasy games.
    I buy the books (there’s only 3 until the Mars sourcebook comes out later this year) and have read them a dozen times. They are beautiful books, a joy to read and the system is very easy. Too bad no one will play it.

    • Hey there neonecromancer,

      I’ve only got the corebook (so far) but I have to say that the book is really eye-catching. I had it sitting on the table with some other games and it’s always the first one that people reach out to flip through from the cover alone. Ubiquity seems to be an easy enough system to run, so I’m looking forward to the day when I get to round up my players to sit down and give it a whirl.

  4. loquacious says:

    I also want to be playing Champions, and Mage, and Solomon Kane! I’ll also admit tobeing selfish, and I want to play Dark Heres, Dark Consipracy and CHILL. Yeah. That’s what I want.

  5. […] Games I Wish I Was Playing Right Now from Life and Times of a Philippine Gamer (philgamer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

