New Books, Ahoy!

Posted: May 30, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Hollow Earth Expedition, Legend of the Five Rings, Roleplaying Games

Well, this is interesting.  This weekend, Tarathiel23, a good friend and player in my game arrived home from a month-long trip to the US carrying one of the biggest loads of new gaming books I have ever seen in one go.  Included in his shipment of awesome are:

Each of these games run off a different system, so if this blog is going to end up with a new bunch of “Let’s Study” articles, then definitely it’ll come from these games.

Thankfully I’m familiar with L5R’s Roll and Keep system, and the recent series on All For One: Regime Diabolique has introduced me to Ubiquity.  However I will be the first to admit that I don’t know much about the remaining systems:  GumShoe, FATE and Cortex are all brand new to me.  That said, I’m looking forward to getting elbow-deep in these new gaming systems and seeing what they bring to the table.

I’ve heard good things about GumShoe and FATE in particular, and more recent uses of the Cortex system have gained quite a lot of attention from games like Smallville or Leverage, so surely there’s something in there that’s worth checking out.

It’s quite a haul, and I’m pretty happy that our gaming group is getting access to these newer games.  I know I’ve always been the more traditional type of GM, but I’ve never really been one to put down a system unless it has really gone and given me a bad experience.  And so I’m excited, maybe I won’t be able to run these games just yet, but having a choice as to which game to run is always a good thing.

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    Hoho — Serenity, Dresden, and Mutant City Blues! Excellent.

  2. Tallgeese says:

    I am a big booster of FATE, and I have and appreciate (but haven’t had the opportunity to play GUMSHOE games).

    With respect to CORTEX, I have never GM’ed it, and there has been quite a bit of kvetching about chargen and the system (especially after the release of the Firefly RPG).

    But I have to say that playing CORTEX was a blast, and emulated the fast paced action of Firefly rather well!

    Glad you are getting some hard copies of some great games!

    TG

  3. Zakharov says:

    FATE is awesome!

Leave a Reply

