My Campaign Wishlist, as a Player

In a reversal of my usual list of Campaigns I would like to run, I’m taking advantage of my player phase to try and think of games that I would actually like to play in.

So, in no real particular order:

Pirates of the Sea of Fallen Stars [D&D 3.5 Forgotten Realms] – Swashbuckling, high fantasy, pirates… all in the backdrop of Faerun’s Sea of Fallen Stars.  If I want to go high fantasy, I’ll go for the usual 3.5 Forgotten Realms, not because I don’t like 4e, it’s just that I suspect that 4e might not be the right system for this kind of high adventure campaign.

Techno-thriller Cyberpunk [HERO System 5th Edition Revised] – One part Tom Clancy and three parts Ghost in the Shell.  I want to see chrome, cybernetics, bullets and kung-fu in a heady mix of cordite and ozone.   While this kind of campaign might be better served as an episodic / mission-based structure, I can see it developing a longer story arc in the long run.

Any nWoD Game – I know this is fairly generic but man, nWoD has yet to let me down.  My personal preference is Mage: the Awakening, but Changeling: the Lost is right up there with it.  My only requirement for these would be a heavy, heavy emphasis on characters and personal horror.

A Superhero Camapign [HERO System 5th Edition, Revised] – I haven’t played HERO supers for such a long time now and I figure it will probably be a cold day in hell before I end up playing.  Still a dark, Marvel Knights & Marvel MAX-ish sort of game of costumed vigilantes would actually be pretty damn cool.  I like the whole heroic angle of HERO, less outrageous builds, and a rock solid system.  With the right set of other players a serious game with darker, adult themes would be interesting.

—-

And that’s it, it’s a short list for now but these are the ones most prominent off the top of my head.  These are games that I would most likely fight tooth and nail in order to play in, and if it turns out that nobody will run them, then I probably will end up doing so anyway :p

10 comments

  1. Although it’s not the same as table top, if you’re interested, I have an online group that is currently planning both a Mage: the Awakening game and a Changeling: the Lost game, to be played via instant messenger in a table-top style. Again, it’s not the same, but I doubt anyone would object to me inviting you.

  2. Thanks for the invite Charles!

    I’ll have to check my schedule though. Being in the Philippines often means that everything else in the world happens when I’m asleep or at work. :p

  3. Oh and a supers campaign inspired by Warren Ellis’ the Boys or Kurt Busiek’s Astro City or B. Michael Bendis’ Powers universe would be pretty damned awesome.

    Course if you run “the Boys” campaign you might need to let your players decide if they’re gonna be capes like the Seven or trenchers like Bulldog and his Boys. And in the Powers’ universe you might end up with your players being more like Law & Order meets the Superhero Universe.

  4. Ack, that would be a difficulty…yeah. 13-16 hour time difference from the rest of us. It MIGHT be possible during the summer though, I’m going to go talk to the group.

    • Hi Charles,

      Don’t inconvenience yourself on my account. 🙂 I’m already playing every weekend in a Hunter: the Vigil campaign, so I’m getting some of my gaming fix.

      Besides a 13-16 hour time difference is rather extreme. :p

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.