[Kickstarter] It’s an Anime kind of season

Posted: May 10, 2013 by Jay Steven Anyong in Articles, Exalted, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , , , ,

Looks like the recent RPG kickstarters are all looking kind of anime-inspired lately. Not that I’m complaining as I have enjoyed the occasional show or two and many of the games look like they’re really worth the money that people will be pledging. I for one am already earmarking funds for all three of the following games:

OVA: The Anime Role-Playing Game

OVA came to my attention a long time ago when it first came out. It was a quick rules-medium anime game that promised to deliver a ruleset that could keep up with anime tropes without being bogged down with the technical weight of generic systems like GURPS and HERO. It was pretty well written and the author, Clay Gardner was someone who had an obvious love for Anime, but didn’t let it cloud his ability to write a fairly balanced system. I’ve heard he was working on a new edition for a while now and I’m glad to have a chance to jump into it early.

Golden Sky Stories

Another intriguing concept is this heart-warming roleplaying game translated into English. The game concept is one that seems perfect for young kids, as players take the role of Henge, animal spirits who can take on human form and have special powers. These Henge go off on non-violent adventures that have them helping people out or solving mysteries in a small town.

Deluxe Exalted 3rd Edition

 

After what feels like ages, Exalted’s 3rd Edition is coming out, and the Kickstarter for the Deluxe rulebook is pretty spiffy. There’s a host of goodies to be had here, and there’s a promise of a lot of spoilers for what Exalted 3rd will have in store. While I’m genuinely stoked for the game, I’m going to have to admit that the price of the tiers has me pained as the only way I can get a deluxe copy of the book in physical form is by shelling out $130.00, which is definitely out of my casual spending habits. That won’t stop me from pledging $30.00 for the PDF though.

Kickstarter has been a boon for the RPG industry, and I’m very happy to see these guys all succeeding at their respective projects. Likewise PDF tiers are perfect for people like me who don’t have the kind of income to be able to consistently order physical copies, insuring that I get a little bit of the semi-instant gratification bit even if I live half a planet away.

Comments
  1. yamasaki says:

    Hmm, Golden Sky Stories seems like the type of RPG I can run for my kid!

Leave a Reply

