The Virtues of Recharging

Posted: April 19, 2013 by Jay Steven Anyong in Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags:

So I’ve been pretty burned out since my last campaign, and I’ve found the games I’ve run since then to be a little on the lackluster side. I’ve had difficulty mustering any sort of enthusiasm to run the games, and I was seriously thinking that I was simply going through the motions.

Clearly this had to stop.

Those who might be familiar with the blog know that I try my best to post from monday to friday, but that schedule’s fallen out of whack as well. So, in an effort to reset my brain, and find some enthusiasm, I’ve taken a short break to try and indulge in some other media to find inspiration.

I’ve found that I’m surprisingly receptive to media in times like these, so I’m taking the chance to recharge my creative batteries by indulging in more passive media consumption. TV series, music and videogames are all sources of interesting scenarios and ideas that I can apply to the game I’m running.

In some ways being able to take the time to really sit down and just turn my brain off from create mode and shift it over to consumption mode is doing wonders for me. While I’m still shaking off the worst of my burnout, I’m slowly amassing a small inventory of story seed and situations that I can introduce in the game when the opportunity presents itself.

Comments
  1. looking for inspiration? search for Corvus Corax on youtube :-) i’m sure you’ll start thinking swords and sorcery ….

Leave a Reply

