[Fantasy Craft] Jianghu: A Wuxia Campaign, Planning Mode On

Posted: March 26, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Campaign Design, Fantasy Craft, Roleplaying Games
Tags: ,

At this point I can imagine several people I know quoting Tychus Findlay from StarCraft 2 “Hell… it’s about DAMN time.”

So I’ve decided to hit two birds with one stone sometime this year and run a Wuxia game with Fantasy Craft. I’ve been a long time fan of the Fantasy Craft system (and supplements) and being able to finally get a campaign off the ground is going to be a major achievement for me.

Because of that, I’m starting early with regards to the planning of the game. For one thing I’ll have to re-acquaint myself with the nuances of the Fantasy Craft’s Second Printing rules. Along the way I’ll be picking out the pieces that fit the setting I have in mind.

With regards to world building, I’ve actually had something of a small head start. I’ve been putting togther a Wuxia setting called Jianghu and I figure that this campaign will be a good way to see how my world building holds up in actual play.

I’ve always been a big fan of the Wuxia genre, and I’ve always found that the setting allows for a lot of Player freedom to go around and do some major league hero-ing. Wuxia heroes come in all stripes, from Assassins to Wandering Knight Errants, Mendicant Monks and Cunning Courtiers, there’s a place for nearly any kind of hero in it.

With regards to tone, I’m looking at trying to avoid tragedy and high-level politics. Travel might be a good thing, as Wuxia heroes very rarely decide to settle down, but there’s merit in “adopting” a location as a base of operations as well.

It’s still a long way before I run this, but at least I’m laying the foundation for it. With any luck this might be my next big campaign for the year, and I’ll be able to put up actual play reports and some additional insights on running and designing a Fantasy Craft Campaign.

Leave a Reply

