Games I ought to run – March 2013 Edition

Posted: March 21, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags: , , ,

Every now and then I take a look at my RPG library and wonder why I haven’t run some of these games. I’ve had them for a while and they each have their merits, so I suppose I owe it to myself to actually run them even once.

Right now the ones which are floating to the surface of my awareness are:

  • Dungeon World – I joined the kickstarter for this, and there’s been a generally good reaction from people who have tried it. It’s different from the usual RPG though, and maybe that’s what is making me hesitate.
  • FATE Core – Another kickstarter project I backed, FATE has always been the recipient of boundless praise online. Again I’ve always passed on this since it feels too different. Have I become a grognard?
  • Changeling: the Lost – Okay, now here’s a game that didn’t come out from a Kickstarter effort, and one that I’ve had on my shelf for too long. Dark, spooky and thematic, I keep telling myself to run it, but I wonder if I’ll end up scaring myself in the process.
  • Mummy: the Curse – Now this is a tall order. Mummy is impressive, scary and awesome as all get out, but the framework that might work the best is one where only one of the Players is a Mummy and I’m still wrapping my head around that notion.
  • Fantasy Craft – Sometimes you just want to Crunch. Sure I talk a lot about stories and protagonists and such, but at some point, there’s a joy to being able to play out a brilliant tactic and see it work.
  • Fading Suns – Space Opera with L5R / White Wolf-ish factions. What’s not to love? I owe myself this one.

Making lists like these tend to be very helpful and therapeutic, but I’m wondering when I’ll have the time to run all of these.

Comments
  1. yamasaki says:

    Fate Core?! Somehow I still remember your disdain for the Fate system; what got you to change your mind? :)

  2. chindividual says:

    I ran a two-shot of Dungeon World, and while it does take some time to get used to, the system and game in general is really awesome and plays smoothly. Give it a shot :)

  3. Hystrix says:

    Dungeon World is pretty awesome, yo. I ran a few online sessions of Fantasy Renaissance Florence and it was a blast watching my party save the city from a riot and some mercenary orcs from Pisa. But yeah, you don’t want to approach it like a Traditional RPG. Your players have a lot of agency so run it loose, ask questions, let them narrate what they want to do before finding the right move for it, and always respect the consequences.

    Hope you give it a try sometime!

Leave a Reply

