[Let’s Study] Mummy: the Curse Starts Next Week!

Posted: February 1, 2013 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Let's Study, Mummy: the Curse, Roleplaying Games, World of Darkness
Tags: ,

As one of the Kickstarter backers for the latest new World of Darkness games, I’ve been fortunate enough to be sent a preview copy of Mummy: the Curse. As such I figure it would be a good enough time as any start getting my hands dirty by diving into the game and checking out how it works.

I have high hopes for Mummy, as the previews were interesting, and I really wanted to find out how the development team was planning to present what is admittedly one of the “cheesier” monsters of cinema and pop culture. While I am familiar with the earlier Mummy game from the old World of Darkness (Mummy: the Resurrection) I was hoping that M:tC delivers a new twist that makes players want to play these ancient beings.

At this point I’ve only begun to scratch the surface of the book, and I’ll see if I can make my way through all of it. My first impression so far is that while the book’s language is easy enough to follow, the concepts presented can be tricky, and character generation isn’t quite so straightforward as in the other games. That said, the concepts presented are intriguing, and the hints as to the secrets in the game tucked into the Storyteller section are actually quite interesting. I’ll try to veer away from any major spoilers at the moment though, or at least tag posts that discuss them so that players actively avoiding them won’t be annoyed with me.

Since this is going to be a Let’s Study series, I expect to make mistakes along the way. I’m hoping that the Onyx Path crew and other backers who are reading their copies join in and make their clarifications and comments as well. Definitely looking forward to kicking this series off on Monday.

Leave a Reply

