The Cloudy Haze of GM Writer’s Block

Posted: December 4, 2012 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games
Tags:

It happens to everyone, but it’s always more frustrating when it happens to you. I know I just kicked off a Mage: the Awakening campaign a few weeks ago, but with the crush of work stress and various scheduling conflicts, I’m starting to lose a bit of steam.

Right now I find myself flipping through my considerable collection of pdfs and wondering what the heck the source of my current GMing lethargy is coming from. I don’t think it’s because I’m not enjoying the game, because I felt that I was having a good time with the Mage campaign when I ran the first session.

Maybe I just feel particularly un-creative at the moment. I know these moods pass soon enough, but I can’t help but feel annoyed when it happens. Still, there’s something good about these moods as, I tend to force myself to read or study something new to see if anything manages to shake me out of it by sheer novelty or genius in the mechanics or the setting.

This is probably one of the reasons why I have to wonder about people who can run very, very long campaigns lasting years. How do you guys keep the momentum going for so long without getting bored?

Comments
  1. dbro36 says:

    Well… I have no experience with long running campaigns but I do have experience with writing blocks and I do have one way of bypassing it.

    You see, I think many GMs often fall into the trap of thinking the setting and story is theirs, and the players are… well… playing a part in it. But players can be a powerful tool for furthering, enhancing and enriching the background of your worlds.

    Exciting things can happen when a player asks you a question and you ask them “Well, what do YOU think/see/hear?”

    Let them fill in the blanks from time to time, who knows what exciting things could happen.

  2. bluedeckshoe says:

    I’ve run my fair share of long running campaigns and there always comes a point where you get stuck. My only advice would be to stockpile ideas when the idea is fresh in your mind (usually when you first start) and also, draw on your players. Ask them what they would like to see / do. If all else fails, take a break – it might be all you need.

Leave a Reply

