Old Group is New Group Again

Posted: November 9, 2012 by Jay Steven Anyong in Articles, Campaign Design, Roleplaying Games
Tags:

After taking stock of our current situation, my wife and I have decided to join up with the other half of our old gaming group again in their (significantly larger) apartment for gaming on weekends. These guys are the same ones I’ve spent years gaming with, though we did branch off to hosting games in our own apartment for the greater part of a year. Now that this reunion is happening, I fully expect social dynamics to come in and play a part once more.

This is the biggest reason for me pitching a new campaign. I like to start fresh, where we don’t have preconceived notions and assumptions from how I ran a previous game spilling over to this new one. It’s been a few months since I’ve ran games for some of these players, so I expect that their gaming styles and expectations will have changed, and that I’ll have to build my player profiles up from ground up.

But change is good, so I’m actually pretty optimistic about the whole thing. This weekend will be spent pitching my shortlist of campaign ideas from the post earlier this week and seeing which ones will bite. My usual players, Silver Countess and Hikkikomori are definitely in the group, so the question now is who else will be joining me. I suspect that if nMage wins, I’ll be seeing Sheimaruen, who seems to have this thing for nMage in general. Sci-Fi will be a good draw for Vicente who joined us for a time in the L5R campaign, and his wife Maddie who is a big, big fan of sci-fi settings.

I’m pretty confident that I can bring something new to the table as the other group has been more or less on an Exalted marathon for about a year or so. I’m not that good an Exalted GM in their eyes, so I’m sure that whatever else I run will be perceived as novel at least.

Hopefully I can get a final tally of who will be joining my game and put up short player profiles on them so I can start putting together a better picture of the social dynamics of the group, their expectations and what they want from the game.

Looking forward to it!

Comments
  1. Hikikkomori says:

    Looks like nMage: nManila won.

    Time to pick a tower. :D

Leave a Reply

