Archive for November 30, 2011

My Next Campaign: What Will It Be?

Posted: November 30, 2011 by pointyman2000 in Articles, Roleplaying Games

Here we are again.  While my current Legend of the Five Rings campaign, Never a Dull Blade is doing well, I’ve started thinking of what might make for a good campaign afterwards.  At the rate that I’m going, I’m guessing that Never a Dull Blade will go on for another year or so of in-game time before I bring it to a close.

That said, I’ve been thinking about what game to run eventually.  I’m quite used to being the perpetual GM of my gaming circle, so I’m not quite craving for a chance to be a player in a game just yet.  I have several choices for games that I could go for, some of which I’ve been thinking about doing for a long time now, and others which are old reliable games that I can probably pick up and run without skipping a beat.

Sci-Fi

I know it’s a massive genre, but I’ve not run anything in this genre for years now.  The last I tried was a campaign set in the Metabarons universe, which while being a funky Space Opera campaign, never saw a conclusion.  I’m currently researching good Space Opera and Mecha RPGs to see if anything strikes my fancy to run.  Fading Suns is also a big contender here.

World of Darkness

Hello darkness, my old friend.  This is one of those no-brainer games for me.  While it’ll most likely be Mage, a host of other possibilities abound.  From Hunter, to Changeling and maybe even Vampire.  Sadly Werewolf, Promethean and Geist might not necessarily be run.  I just can’t wrap my head around them enough to run them, to be honest.

Supers

Here we go again.  The last campaign I ran for this genre was using the Mutants & Masterminds ruleset, and I might just try again with their 3rd Edition, assuming that I don’t go and make a homage campaign to honor HERO games with a game run using their system.  Nothing concrete here yet, but I have been pondering a campaign that has a strong Legion of Super Heroes vibe, with heroes from all over the known worlds in one superteam, saving their worlds from various inter-stellar threats.

Other options include Espionage, but that might be a long shot, given that I’m not that well versed in the genre.  Still, giving Spycraft 2.0 a time to shine is always a possibility.