Archive for November 24, 2011


As far as GMs go, I consider myself blessed.  Blessed because I have a team of players who are willing to go the extra mile to make the game entertaining and interesting for everyone when they play.  When I run a game, I don’t feel like I’m the only guy lending any sense of motion to the campaign, while the rest of the players look at me expectantly when they’re not having fun.

Instead it feels like we’re a rowing team.  Everyone puts in effort and everyone moves forward.

I know I’ve gone over this before, but sometimes it feels repeating. If your games and your group seem to be stale, or boring, or just generally uninteresting, try to take a moment to consider who is actually pushing the game.

This is where feedback is crucial.  Every single activity known to man can be improved the moment people stop for a moment and say, “Huh, you know what?  I think we can actually improve this.”  Ask any Scientist out there, and they’ll tell you that innovation comes from questioning the status quo and looking for means to improve what we already have.

Sure I could walk ten miles to work, but that’s why we invented bikes, or cars or domesticated horses.  These are all valid solutions to making our lives easier and more fulfilling.  Laundry is a chore, but it’s a hell of a lot easier now that we have machines… machines which could never have existed if people didn’t ask “Isn’t there a better way to do this?”

And so it is with everything, including gaming.  If you’re unhappy with your gaming, then there’s definitely room for improvement.  Find it, work on it and see if it makes a difference.  I’ve occasionally been told that my “obsession” with learning to GM better is stupid and a waste of time.  I don’t feel that way, much in the same way that a person who enjoys a hobby tries to improve themselves to further their enjoyment, I think that my efforts to try and be a better GM for my group is only helping me enjoy the hobby at a different sort of level.