Archive for July 19, 2011

Four Years of the Philippine Gamer

Posted: July 19, 2011 by Jay Steven Anyong in Articles, Roleplaying Games

Hey guys,

I just realized now that I’ve been at this blog for four years, apparently.  The Life and Times of a Philippine Gamer was originally a blog put up on a whim, a chance to put up a regularly updated, informative website where Philippine enthusiasts and curious newcomers to the hobby can check new stuff out and leave comments, and maybe become a community.

While the community aspect of the blog hasn’t really happened, I think I’ve done pretty well with how the blog has done.  Things have changed a bit, more reviews now, a strong focus on GM advice, musings on genre and campaign concepts, and my own RPG.  I’ve joined two RPG blogging networks, and made a whole lot of friends from the international RPG community.

I’ve had a chance to check out games that have never seen the light of day here in the Philippines, and the PDF and ebook trend has made it even easier for people like me to discover, purchase and play these games.  The hobby is healthier than ever, but someone has to keep broadcasting to the local community, keeping them informed about new products, interesting games and answering the questions that crop up to address local issues.

This is what I’m here for, and this is what I plan to keep doing.