Archive for July 17, 2011


Yesterday’s kickoff of the Hollow Earth Expedition campaign I’ve been working on for the past week has been nothing short of amusing, as three of my players showed up, finalized their character concepts and hit the ground running.  The Ubiquity System does exactly what it says in the tin, being a relatively rules-light, and primarily transparent rules system that doesn’t slow down due to boring minutiae.  I’ll have to come back some time to post a full article on my first impression of the Hollow Earth Expedition rules system once I’ve got a few more sessions under my belt as I’m still making sure that my impressions aren’t colored by my lack of experience with it.

That said, let’s go back and take a look at our characters:

  • Catherine Ashford (played by Silver Countess) – A Biology Professor in Columbia University with a mysterious past, and a pet baby dinosaur named Polly.  Often mistaken for a minor due to her looks.
  • Elliot “Elly” Tremayne (played by Rvelasco) – A brilliant, if condenscending Linguist and Historian out to prove his grandfather’s theory of a “Proto-Civilization” true to the stodgy bastards of the academe.
  • Darwin (played by Hikkikomori) – Fearsome and mysterious “Epicurean Adventurer” who travels the world to find exotic ingredients to subdue with his bare hands, consume posthaste and document maybe sometime when he gets around to it.

I have two other players for this game, but they weren’t able to make it to today’s session, so their introductions will have to wait.  And so, on to the Actual Play Report!

(more…)